It’s Arguably The Most Glaring Double Standard In American Life Today‏‏

I do not intend to do much political stuff on this blog, but this one was too good to pass up.

The WSJ opinion pages are worth a read. I find myself disagreeing with them more often that not, but they are usually well-informed, well-argued opinions.

This article discusses an apparent hypocrisy between how the media treats Rick Santorum and Barack Obama:

“When Barack Obama was campaigning for president in 2008, he declared that marriage is between a man and a woman. For the most part, his position was treated as a nonissue.

Now Rick Santorum is campaigning for president. He too says that marriage is between a man and a woman. What a different reaction he gets.”

The author has a point. You could suggest that it is a minor point, or that there are other issues to consider, but it logically hangs together. This sentence is what makes me spill my coffee:

“It’s arguably the most glaring double standard in American life today.”

Really? Media bias regarding Presidential Candidates views? That is the most glaring double standard in American life? In an article where you are discussing that gays can’t get married?

I have a principle that if I don’t know whether to laugh or cry, I choose to laugh…

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Richard

     /  February 21, 2012

    That will teach you to look at the actual words people write/speak rather than going along with what they thought they meant (or implied or wanted to say if they knew what they meant)

    Reply
  2. Kristina

     /  February 21, 2012

    For a few seconds I thought this might be a defense of Santorum. I am relieved I read to the end before I formulated an argument that missed the point.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

